Build Native Blackberry apps natively on a Mac… using Maven!


Click here for the Maven Blackberry code behind this post.

Aight, I can’t help it! I’ve been itching to get this done for sooo long. If you’re into Blackberry development then you’ll understand just how absurd the above title sounds. Let me just throw intelliJ Idea into the mix as well then you’ll begin to see the big picture. Starting to do J2ME development, an experienced Java guy like myself has naturally gravitated towards a certain set of tools. Maven2 is hands down the only acceptable build system for a Java project, while Idea beats the pants off of Eclipse, and Windows boxes…? Forget it! Java runs practically double speed on a *Nix OS plus with the flash of OS X there’s no question as to what boots on a typical knowledgeable hard working Java developer’s box. All of these tools work well, and most of them work well together. BUT… BUT!!! Doing J2ME implies Windows and Ant all around so there’s gonna be either a divorcing of the toolchain or a boatload of integration issues. This weekend I fought through the biggest of the integration issues. And this morning I finally managed to build a Blackberry .cod deployable program… completely without Windows… using a Maven2 pom… natively on my Mac! I’ve been updating my blog incrementally with all of the individual pieces so I won’t go into too much detail here. At a high level I’ll explain the tools involved.

  • One Apple Macintosh (iBook, MacPro, MacbookPro, MacAir, whatever…)
  • One Blackberry (Preferably not Verizon because I don’t think they support J2ME)
  • One Windows install (I know, but this is only to extract the Blackberry tools! You can throw the whole thing away once you got the goods out of the JDE downloads. If you have a buddy that already has the JDE just steal it from him and skip this piece all together.)
  • One install of the Blackberry Java Development Environment (JDE).
  • One bottle of scotch (or wine) for to celebrate with.
  • One install of Maven2
  • Two tablets of asprin (to handle the hangover after you’ve spent the entire rest of the day celebrating with scotch or wine.)

I think that’s everything in the ingredients list. I’ll post back later with the recipe as time allows.

6 Comments

  1. Larry

    Hey, where’s that recipe? :)

    I’ll try from scratch, I guess…

  2. Oh no wait… I thought I posted it. Look for a followup tonight. I’ll post the source to my Blackberry plug in for Maven. It only support OS 4.3.0 and higher which is an important distinction to make. sorry, I’d been so sidetracked trying to get RSpec to run in an iPhone project I completely lost sight of my thread here.

  3. Ok, it’s been a while but I finally posted the code in another blog post.

Trackbacks

  1. Der M-Blog » Blog Archive » J2ME & Maven2
  2. links for 2009-03-25 at adam hoyle presents suckmypixel
  3. Why won’t my dotNet J# ISAPI filter play nice with your Python interface for Ruby? « Can’t see nothing but the source code

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 238 other followers

