WinXP On Linux Part II


I just did some searching, and browsing and I turned up this howto on the Ubuntu forums. It looks like running VMWare server isn’t as complicated as I thought. I already started the download of VMWare server. However, I’m still wondering if there’s a better option. I’ve heard a lot about Xen in Linux magazines and from my understanding it is the fastest virtualization software out there. Also VMWare is a commercial product offering a free beta. (I think I’m getting the release candidate though.) I’m not sure if the final product will be free or if the license will expire for beta testing. I’d hate to put the work into installing WinXP this way and have it become unusable all of the sudden. Does anybody know anything about Xen? Is it just as easy to install and get Windows up and running? Right now I think I’m taking the VMWare approach unless I find something better.

*Update: I just read the wiki on the Xen site and it looks like there is no support for running Windows yet. The latest version, 3.0.2 includes initial support for running unmodified operating systems but I don’t see official support mentioned. It looks like VMWareServer is the way to go for now. Besides, my download just finished three seconds ago. I’m going to get started.

2 thoughts on “WinXP On Linux Part II

  1. I’ve used QEMU for a while to run Windows 2000 on my Ubuntu box and it works quite well. It’s quite fast, especially if you have the kqemu kernel module compiled and loaded.

  2. Thanx for the comment Marc. I’ve made my decision and have already completed the install under VMWare. I have to say it was pretty easy. I am definitely pleased with the results so far. The next thing I need to do is figure out how to share files between my real system and my virtual system.

Leave a Reply

