Speak up…


Did you try Juxy? Please, don’t mind my earlier little musings about the XSLT unit testing framework. I was merely being grateful for the help both it and it’s designer contributed to my current objective. More importantly, I have a bone to pick with you. Yeah, you. Your sitting there with your build system running in the background trying to fill the precious gaps of time between code change and deployment with the mental ingestion of one of my writings, (or someone else’s writing like Joel, or Rory). You’ve been here before and you’ve heard of my plot for world domination but you haven’t contributed anything towards my quest. You saw me struggling with unit testing stylesheets but did you pitch in? Oh no! Instead you watched idlely, probably snickering to yourself, as I marched onward getting bit by JDK bugs and XML quirks. At the conclusion of each topic I ask that you holla back yet I hear not even a peep from you. Not a “Yo!” not “wassup!”, not even a “Hey, how the hell are ya’?” I also include detailed descriptions of what it means to holla. I include references to various artists known only for the simple fact that they holla in an attempt to inspire or coerce a shout out from you, yet my site remains quiet. I’ve asked that you tell a friend, spread the word to all so that I may recruit into my army of armageddon from the most elite of you. I even promised an honorable and quick passage into the afterlife only in exchange for your support in my plight. Did I expect anything in return except your mortal soul? Not at all, neither did I receive anything in return. But that was cool. Really, it’s all good. I was on some other stuff like “I’ma take out the planet by myself. My plot is air-tight and I don’t need any army.”

By now I got my stylesheet generator almost in beta and it’s pushing out stuff like you wouldn’t believe. Then I saw it, cuz. It was like the straw that broke the camel’s back because nobody told me about it. I had to figure it out all by myself. That’s why I’m beefin’ with you. It’s the most obvious answer to anybody attempting to write a stylesheet from a stylesheet. I ain’t even gonna say it cause I’m flamin’. You want to know what I found? Nah, I ain’t tellin. Ok, aaiight, I’ll say it. There’s this XSL instruction called namespace-alias that makes you look like a sucka, for trying to escape your stylesheet element with dynamic declarations. Really, instead of the dumb stuff I was doing:


        <xsl:element name="xsl:stylesheet" namespace="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform">
            <xsl:attribute name="version">1.0</xsl:attribute>
            <xsl:element name="xsl:output">
                <xsl:attribute name="method">xml</xsl:attribute>
                <xsl:attribute name="version">1.0</xsl:attribute>
            </xsl:element>
            <xsl:call-template name="root-template"/>
        </xsl:element>


I could just be on some ol’ simple stuff:


        <xslt:stylesheet version="1.0">
            <xslt:output method="xml" version="1.0"/>
            <xsl:call-template name="root-template"/>
        </xslt:stylesheet>


How’s I supposed to know that? Ain’t nobody clue me in on that! I’ma keep it movin on that note ‘cuz it ain’t like I’m expecting a flood of responses to none of the dumb stuff I write here anyway. I mean, it ain’t like you was gonna say something about Juxy either. I straight, had to find out that one on my own too. It’s gonna be like this. I’ll keep puttin stuff up here and you’ll keep on with whatever. Then maybe one day you’ll see something and be like, “yo, I gots ta’ speak on that…” Then we’ll have the little blahsay-blah going and be up on some real dialog stuff. Till then, I’m stayin’ true to the game, truth to my name, holla back if you feelin’ the same…

Leave a Reply

