Windows WGA WTF???


I finally decided to bend over and take it in the rear from the Microsoft conglomerates when I clicked the yellow balloon and allowed the “install Windows updates” prompt to carry out its task of spewing bile over my once cherished hard drive. (That’s a strong first sentence isn’t it?) I made my decision to install WGA (on my home computer, I run Linux at work) after reading about how it would eventually be mandatory by the fall. What is a person to do after being backed into a corner? I was tired of the little yellow nag in the lower right corner of the screen reminding me that WGA had not been installed. After staisfying the yellow nag I was eventually greeted by a rectangular nag urging me to power cycle my PC so the update could complete its install. Thus began my argument with my monitor as I desparately attempted to catch up on Slashdot, Rory, and other newsfeeds.

Me: “I don’t want to reboot now”
Rectangular Prompt: “You need to restart windows to complete the install. Restart now? Restart later?”
Me: “I’ll do it later…”
Rectangular Prompt (5 minutes later): “You need to restart windows to complete the install. Restart now? Restart later?”
Me: “Why are you bothering me? I’m trying to read up on Open GL! Later! I’ll reboot later!”
Rectangular Prompt (5 minutes later): “You need to restart windows to complete the install. Restart now? Restart later?”
Me: “Aw c’mon!! Why is it so important that I restart? Later! I’ll reboot when I’m ready!”
Rectangular Prompt (5 minutes later): “You need to restart windows to complete the install. Restart now? Restart later?”
Me: “You gotta be kidding me! I’m right in the middle of prototyping Open GL in a Groovy script. That’s way more important than allowing Gates or Ballmer to control my AMD chip. Later!”
Rectangular Prompt (5 minutes later): “You need to restart windows to complete the install. Restart now? Restart later?”

You get the point. I can’t believe a user interface with that much arrogance is permissible in these modern days of development. Why in the world would anyone imagine that as a good idea? The developer responsible should suffer the wrath of his own creation. Imagine said developer locked in a room filling with toxic gas where the only way to open the door was to complete a death match in Doom with out losing network connectivity on a PC that just completed the first phase of the WGA install. I have never been so annoyed by UI design in my life. (Well, there is a little matter of the recent addition of confirmation prompts when you save posts here on wordpress.com.) What is the world coming to? I’m not so upset that the upgrade UI illustrates poor software design. I’m more bothered that such poor design is allowed (and probably encouraged) in such a high profile product that reaches such a large user base. It’s boils down to lousy customer service. Imagine if your cable company interrupted all broadcasts every five minutes reminding you how great of a company it was and asking you to restart your entertainment center in order to continue viewing your show? Imagine if this happened in the middle of the seasonal broadcast of 24! Even better. What if you pull out of a service station after a routine tune up heading north bound at a speed of 55mph approaching a red light when your entire control panel becomes disabled (steering wheel, brake pedal, turn signals) while an audio prompt plays through the stereo speakers reminding you to restart your engine so you can appreciate the latest quality upgrade from Ford Motor Companies? I have one word to describe all of this… unacceptable! It’s no wonder Microsoft is having image problems. That callibur of customer service speaks of arrogance. I’m not even going to start on what it took to reactivate my copy of WinXP at work over VMWare. Holla at the man…

Leave a Reply

