Oh no, Ohloh!


Wassup party people in the place to be???!!!
The name’s Codemaster Clifton C.!

(In case it’s not apparent: The above text should be read aloud in a musical way using every attempt to garnish rhythm from said text while ryhming “be” with the last initial of the name “C”.)

I just found something else cool that I haven’t really looked at before posting. (This comes after the last cool thing I posted which was later described to me as a promo with a bunch of hand waving. I really should take the necessary exploratory time to review stuff I post here before I make a fool out of myself. Still, this one looks like it’s worth blogging blindly about.) It’s called Ohloh. It seems like it gives metrics for open source projects. What kind of metrics you say? I’m glad you asked! (…even though I had to type the question for you!) Here’s an example. I pull up one of my favorite open source projects, Groovy and I can immedaitely see that there are 21 active developers with the most visible being members like jstrachan, blackdrag (what up dawg?), tug, graeme (who’s mad grimey (don’t worry cuz, it’s a term of endearment!)), and glaforge. If that’s not enough (and it should be enough. After all what are you digging around in somebody else’s closet for? Don’t you know there could be skeletons in there?) I get messages like Groovy has a:

* Large, active development team
* Established codebase
* Declining development activity (uh-oh)
* Apache Software License may conflict with GPL (d’oh!)
* Common Public License 1.0 may conflict with GPL (double d’oh!)

Then Ohloh gives me a couple of cool loking graphs or pie charts towards the bottom of the screen. The pie chart is key-lime flavored and tells me how much of which programming language was used to create the project. The hard-to-read blue iceberg looking graph tries to paint a picture of what the codebase looks like. There’s a review section and a satck count reminiscent of digg.com‘s digg count. The stack count informs you how many members have this project on there stack. In better terms it means how many fools out there is using the dang thing.

Overall Ohloh looks to be a promising resource for those of you who want to review an open source project prior to adopting it. And that’s a good thing. I mean, c’mon. How many times have you been stuck with only the sourceforge project page as a guide of whether or not you should stick this SOAP/WSDL/GUI-generator-thingamajigg that you found off a dangling Goolged link to some far fetched foreign web page that was barely related to your problem into your project? How many times have you found that perfect we-found-Bin-Laden project with the eye-popping home page and all the bells and whistles only to find out there hasn’t been a bug fix or a single commit since 2002? Wouldn’t it be nice to know ahead of time that the jar you just bound 500+ KLOCs to was written and maintained solely by the late Alfred Hitchcock’s grandson Igor in the basement of his roach infested apartment with inadequate lighting and a faulty 28K net connection plugged into the back of his 350MHz Compaq? (I ask alot of questions don’t I? Does that frustrate you? Should I stop? Where in the world is Carmen Sandiago? Why does the fate of the world always seem to rest on the shoulders of Jack Bauer? Can anyone realistically save a country after being recently tortured by both the Chinese and an Arab terrorist organization supported by members of your own family, and also after being forced to shoot one of your close friends in the neck to save another former-terrorist that killed one of his old squad buddies? How does that work?)

I’d say more about Ohloh but just like before I didn’t see much more than the home page and two project reviews. Here I go jutting my foot outwards. Lets see if it lands in my mouth. Hit me off if ya’ feelin’ Ohloh and then be like, “Oh no! That Ohloh is off da’ chains!” You don’t even have to mention “chains” if you all shook from being incarcerated or whatever. Just tell me if it’s worth the text I put on this here page.

2 thoughts on “Oh no, Ohloh!

Leave a Reply

