I can’t kopete with Windows


No that’s not a type-o in the title. I’m having an ongoing struggle with the more popular Windows Live messanger service. As some of you know, I stopped using Windows as my primary operating system a long time ago. Now when I check my mail, read my favorite blogs, or chat online with my work buddies I do it all from a Linux based desktop. That’s worked out just fine for most things but lately my Windows Live Account wants to integrate my hotmail. This leads to a constant nagging in Kopete, my instant messanger software of choice. Kopete keeps saying things like, “Check yo’ email fool!” It uses this rectangular boxy thing to nag me. The rectangular thing has these two buttons. Kopete-nag If I tell it to open my inbox then Konqueror fires up and gets me all excited. Konqueror leads me on, telling me things like “I’m logging into your Windows Live Messenger account. Relax, you don’t need XP!” Then the little progress bar fills and resets. Konqueror leads me on again, saying “Whoa, we gonna check some email today! It’s gonna be great!” Once more I watch progress bars fill and reset. Then here goes Konqueror again, “Isn’t it great with all of this KDE integration? Wait till you see what’s in your Hotmail inbox! I can actually connect to Windows services! Screw Redmond!” I sit through several minutes of excitement before it finally sinks in. Konqueror is playing head games with me. It never intended to show me any email! It was getting me all gassed up so I could sit there and look dumb. Ain’t that a terrible game to play on a person? Has your software ever played you like that? I mean, I could get to my email in a bunch of other ways which I don’t mind. But don’t lie to me and promise me email when all you’re showing me is empty progress bars! What do you think? Should I dump my software for deceiving me? Or is it my fault for being dumb enough to sit through several dialogs of empty progress? Hit me up people…

11 thoughts on “I can’t kopete with Windows

  1. Maybe you can Gaim by switching IM clients? Inbox checking for Windows Live Accounts is optional in Gaim – if that’s what you’d like.

    You use Konqueror? Switch to firefox already..

    Does it show I’m an Ubuntu user? (no K for me)

  2. I do use Firefox. It’s just that Konqueror is what fires up when I answer the dialog because of KDE integration. Konqueror is actually pretty good though. For file management it beats Nautilus and Explorer hands down. The main reason I’m stuck on Kubuntu instead of Ubuntu is because of Kopete, Konqueror, Kontact, and Amarok. (I’m also pretty fond of using DCOP for other apps.) I would have to get used to Gnome and it’s different way of doing things. If only there were split screen in nautilus and a Gnome version of Amarok then I’d definitely switch. (I’ve used Gaim and I think it’s neck and neck with Kopete. Thunderbird is a hair better than Kontact but lacks the completeness of Kontact.) I could go on for days but then nothing would get done…

  3. Have you tried messing with the UA settings in Konqueror. It wouldn’t surprise me if His Evil Billness had slipped MSN Live a mickey, making it only want to cohabit with Intranet Exploder. Got to be worth a try, any way.

  4. I realize I’m late to this, but just wanted to add that KHTML is probably the least supported of all the major rendering engines out there. I use Safari on my Macs simply because I love it, but I have had quite a few problems with compatibility. For this reason, I always install Camino on Macs. It sucks, because I’d much rather be using Safari, but there you go…

    Things *have* been improving. It’s not apparent yet, but there’s more industry support rallying to KHTML than people know. It’s probably going to fall behind IE, Gecko, and Opera for the time being, but it is at least being recognized, which is a good thing.

    One thing about Live is that it uses a lot of AJAX voodoo. Since AJAX is still relatively young (the tech has been around for a long time, but adoption was slow), and since there are about ten billion different flavors of javascript out there, it’s tough to provide support for every browser.

    It sucks, and I get hit by it too, but this is the downside of having choices.

    Philosphically, I’ve always believed that every major application ought to have its competition, but in implimentation, the customer often loses.

    I’ve lived on both sides of the fence. Before XP and .NET came out, I was a Java Linux guy. Even after XP, all my machines were setup for dual-booting.

    What I found was that XP wasn’t as much fun, but it worked. Linux provided me with a lot of geeky joy, but I also remember the time I spent an entire weekend trying to get a wireless card up and running.

    I eventually switched to OS X because I knew Apple would provide me with a top to bottom supported Unix machine. That made life easier, but only in terms of hardware. I no longer sat around and fiddled with drivers, but I did get shut out of some corners of the web because IE for OS X was problematic, and Safari, when it came out, although quite nice, didn’t work for about twenty percent of the sites I vitisited due to javascript issues (I could usually still visit, but with limited functionality).

    Wow. I’m really blabbing.

    Anyway, I think my point is this: Whether it’s some flavor of Linux, MS, Apple, or whatever, this whole industry is much younger than we usually consider, and every major system has its share of cruft that makes life difficult. Even our hardware is like this. The world is full of highly performant, power efficient CPU designs, but the problem is… they’re even younger than the industry into which they’re trying to fit. x86 has been the industry standard for desktops for decades, and, until recently, we were just jacking up the size of the chips without making any funamental changes to architecture. I’m working now on a very pleasant Centrino Duo system, but I still know that, at its core, is that x86 cruft.

    It’s all so messy. Those of us who have access to PCs (half the people in the world don’t even have access to phones) live in a world that encourages invention, but is very slow to adopt it. Plans are made years into the future – it takes forever to get things together.

    KHTML is one of these inventions that works well and does a good job, but does that job a bit differently than the other big players, and so will only be supported once adoption shows that it would be worth it.

    It’s happening now, but consumers won’t see the effects for a while.

    OK. Back to work.

    I’ve gone on way too long🙂

  5. I use Konqueror for the integration with KDE and KGet. The setup is wierd but then it works fine.
    Anyway, if you want Kopete to open Firefox, go to System Settings > Default Applications.

  6. Anyway, if you want Kopete to open Firefox, go to System Settings > Default Applications.

    On My System, Heavily Modified Bastardized Kanotix its
    Settings->KDE Components->File Associations
    Choose Text->html
    Move Firefox to the top of the preffered stack.

    This drove me mad until I looked up this article today and found it, given the above hint.

    Now It takes less than a second to get to my MSN mail which is virtually useless anyway, but at least I don’t have to click through 4 prompts after clicking open inbox then realizing Konq won’t open it then going to msn. signing in then clicking Mail then inbox.

  7. Y’know what? I’d really like to try that but I’ve been stuck on Windows for the past month or so and haven’t had time to config my rig with the latest Kubuntu release. (I will soon but I gotta deal with a bunch of other stuff first!) How is that Kanotix? I was going to try it way back when I was knee deep in Mepis? Is it still based on Debian kernels or have they moved to Ubuntu like Mepis?

  8. You have my sympathies. I just last night made my first Microsoft purchase in years. (Last one was this wireless mouse) Halo 1. Runs great on this NIX machine in Wine. I hear Halo2 does as well but $50 is still too much.

    I dunno about the newer versions, I’m still using Kanotix April 2006 Release. (Wow over a year now)
    I went the same path Loved Mepis, Hated Mepis, Dumped it for Kanotix.
    I got it “tuned” to run a boat load of games and work as development environment and haven’t changed it. Previous releases were a pain to update. This release is rock stable but it uses a non standard Kernel. Making Video updates and VM apps a pain.

    All the rest of my machines in the house and office are Kubuntu 7.04 or is it 7.06. I’d highly reccomend them instead. Very nice upgrades and after a little tweaking a great Desktop. (Codecs/MPLAYER, wine add firefox. Why Firefox is not included by default is beyond me.)

    While you are stuck in windows, I often use VMPlayer and Kubuntu Appliance. That way I have streamtuner and Kopete around, Not to mention a secure browser.
    If your machine is fast enough and you have the ram I highly reccomend it.
    http://www.vmware.com/products/player/
    Kubuntu VMAppliance.
    http://www.vmware.com/vmtn/appliances/directory/902

  9. MrCopilot,

    Have you heard of Mint Linux? My OS X buddy from my last job just tipped me to it the other day. It looks like a really good Mepis/Kanotix like alternative. Honestly, I’ve been so overallocated that I really haven’t had the time to go Linux Spelunking like I used to. I’ve now taken on a new challenge, OS X! While I can’t say it’s a perfect replacement OS yet I can speak alot on its elegance. I’m having flashbacks of when I first switched to Linux and trying to get simple things done is still a chore many times. Half of my problems stem from not having all of the bundled software available (I’m having the OS disks shipped to me and I hope that takes care of things). Things such as exploring a zip or jar file escape me. (Why is that not possible with a default OS X install? Even Windows can do that much!) To be honest file management is probably the most important thing to me when I use a new OS. That’s why I was so hooked on KDE/Kubuntu/Mepis… Konqueror simply rocks for file management. Find me another tool that allows me to effortlessly walk into either a zip or a tar or a tar.gz while plucking files out of it and moving them onto remote servers using SSH or SAMBA and I’ll find you one happy developer. (I often dream about re-implementing some of those features using Java/Groovy to take with me wherever there’s a VM.) There are a few other things in OS X that baffle and frustrate me as well as hundreds of things I thought I could live without (iTunes, Quicksilver). I still miss my Katapult, Amarok, Konqueror combo with DCOP and all of the other KDE goodies but overall OS X does a knockout job at integrating multimedia… a much better look and feel than any other OS. I’m babbling about stuff that I don’t know about. That must mean it’s time to get to work! Hollaback…

  10. I recently found this website that I want to share with everyopne as they were a remarkable help when I was
    working on a recent project. I needed to know how to do some stuff in PHP and they were able to provide
    a tutorial sepcifically tailored to my needs. It was fantastic.

    TeamTutorials

    I recommend you hit them up and check them out if you need assistance.

Leave a Reply

