Help Me Jump


I started a new pseudo programming language project for elementary students last year around this time and demo’ed it to my daughter’s school for Career Day. Well Career Day is just around the corner and I haven’t made any progress on the project other than giving it a cool name, Jump! If anybody want to jump in and become a Jump developer give me a ping. The jar file is in the right hand side bar. Here’s what I have so far. Sprites and MIDI files from Super Mario 1,2, and 3. An M2 project around the interpreting engine which interacts with an abstract interface. Another M2 project that ties the interpreter to an instance of a game running on the Golden T engine embedded in a Swing Frame. A word-wrap API that I wrote in pursuit of a job that I didn’t take. The wordwrapper and interpreter were written TDD style while I lashed the game together last minute following the tutorials on the Golden T site.

Here’s what I’m looking for. Collision detection so Mario can bounce off the end of the screen. OthGroovy integration. er characters, the turtles the mushrooms, whatever making random movement on screen. Better backgrounds. New ideas in general. Download the executable Jar from the right hand panel and check it out, you’ll need Java 1.5 to run it. Give me some feedback and ideas and check back in a few days when I post the source files.

Leave a Reply

