Idea Maven Drama


Ain’t got much time to speak on it but here’s what happening. Just upgraded to Idea 7.0.3… upgrading Idea always feels like Christmas… anyhowz…

Went thru some pain getting my Maven projects hooked up right. This was on my Mac. I have an install of Idea on four or five machines here. The one on my Mac was a little dated since I’ve been doing all this mobile dev which requires Windows. So I had to pull down my projects from Svn and do a little refreshing. Mid way through I ended up deleting and re-adding modules in my project. First surprise was the new “I’ve decided to remove all of your other projects from the Maven structure while adding this new one” dialog. I didn’t know how to respond. The dialog apparently had interest in undoing all of the work I did to create my project and asked me if I wanted to further trash my project by removing the modules from my project structure as well. I figured since it already started the delete process it would be a bad idea to keep things half done. So I was like “go ahead, delete. I’ll re-add the modules since you didn’t quite understand my intentions Mr. IDE.” Another dialog asking if I wanted to remove the VCS root of these projects as well. I knew this dialog from being bit in the past on an earlier build of Idea. Apparently if you don’t agree with this nasty dialog you’re left with a project “.ipr” that can no longer link previously deleted modules with the VCS provider they were associated with. So then I’m like, “aww crap… go ahead and completely clear my project so I can add this one module thank you.” That’s just what I wanted to do. Create a brand new project around one sily module. Well after being bossed around by those mean ol’ dialogs I eventually got everything reimported when I got another surprise.

Maven support is wonderful in Idea. So wonderfule you set your clock by it. So great you invite your friends and grandfolks over to admire and discuss its features. Of course the old-folks don’t really grok the tech talk. Hell, they don’t even grok “grok”. They’re just happy to have conversation with the grandkids and get out of the old folks home once in a while so they’ll happily listen to practically anything you mumble to them while feigning interest. That’s the nice thing about grandfolks. Just like grandfolks Maven support is nice. However, when it breaks it leaves no clue as to what went wrong. So I’m trying to import this one module and I noticed they fixed one crappy hidden problem explanation. If I don’t mount the network drive where our shared install of Maven is hosted it used to pretend that there were no maven projects in any folder. Now I get an error dialog stating that it can’t find the mapped drive or something like that. The next nasty problem starts with a pom that doesn’t define a group id. You see, I’m pulling modules in from another project I worked on a while ago with a whole new parent structure that no longer exists. So I went and removed the parent tag because I was being nagged about the parent pom not being found. I never thought about how I inherited the group id. So now Idea starts giving me nasty NullPonterExceptions after I’ve imported and thought I’d successfully set everything up. This happens everytime I synch the project. Then it happens even worse when I recreate the project from scratch trying to pull the errant module in. I just keep getting NPE and scratching holes in my scalp. I’m well over my word limit for a quick post that started with “I ain’t got time to splain much…” Hit me up people…

2 thoughts on “Idea Maven Drama

  1. Thanx. I didn’t intend for the post to be hilarious as it was more of a brain dump out of frustration typed word for word as I was thinking. Looking back I can see the comedy. Idea has gotten better over the years and in release 9 I don’t have near as many MAven issues as I used to. I also don’t do near as much Maven work but that’s quickly changing. MY recent project is mostly built with Maven and I just need to figure out how to work the native C compiler stuff to make it end to end.

Leave a Reply

