Losing the Linux touch


I thought I was picking Linux up rather quickly at my last job. Alas, since I’ve started working here, at the leading Mapping provider, I’ve been far removed from the Penguin. I find myself struggling with the simplest things, like how to extract a tar.gz fom the command line. I special requested a Linux machine which sits on the corner of my desk unused since my hire date. I just haven’t had the time to get back into it. I feel sooo dirty. So shameful! Not only have I neglected GSpec (by the way, y’all check out EasyB) I’ve turned away from Linux. I’m not the same guy I used to be. The other day I spent an hour trying to figure out how to evaluate the parent folder of the current executing script in bash. I still don’t have it. this is a problem I encountered long ago. I found the solution. I just can’t remember what it was! Linux is a lot unlike learning to ride a bike. Y’know how once you learn how to balance on two whells you never forget? Well Linux is the exact opposite of that. It’s one of those things where if you cheat and go back to Windows or some other GUI you have to re-learn everything you knew or thought you knew on Linux. At home I’ve been struggling with DSL. I could barely get Synaptic installed. And after that I installed IceWM but couldn’t figure out how to launch it. It’s getting real bad. If I had the time I’d change the header picture on this blog and remove the Linux background part. I wouldn’t even replace it with OS X because I’ve just been feeling very under-confident lately. It’s like I know where to look, I have a rough idea of how to do things but getting things done has become way more involved than it used to be. I used to have a solution in a few mouse clicks. A command or two. A quick Google search. Nowadays, I can’t query my way out of a parked car. I’m losing it y’all! Help!!!

One thought on “Losing the Linux touch

Leave a Reply

