JDiskReport, and Leopard


I’m fighting the clock constantly trying to stay on top of my game, meet deadlines, and still have time to play with the latest and greatest. It’s a little unnerving because in order to stay ahead of deadlines one has to constantly graduate to newer software and development techniques. However, to graduate one must also suffer the differences, learning curve, and inconsistencies brought on by such a graduation. Lately I’ve been trying to upgrade to Leopard. As with any OS change or upgrade, it hasn’t gone smoothly. There are reasons for that which aren’t related to Apple or their software. For what it’s worth I did successfully upgrade an older Macbook from Tiger to Leopard last night, but now I’m carefully meticulously trying to upgrade my main machine to Leopard. Along the way I was surprised to see my dis space usage had grown to a whopping 67 GB! 48 of those precious GBs lie directly in my home folder! I only noticed during the upgrade process, which I abruptly stopped because the numbers didn’t sound quite right.

That brings me to today’s topic! JDiskreport! Here’s a little tool I found a long time ago, then re-found (can I say re-found without sounding childish? No? Well there ya’ go! Yes I re-found it…) a couple of months ago through a tangent while exploring Groovy’s constantly growing wonderful library of documentation. If you ever want to know where the majority of your precious GBs are disappearing to browse out to JDiskreport’s home page and find the WebStart link. (I used to hate Webstart but once you get your Java environment setup correctly and all of your browser plugins configured right then it really works like a charm!) I just got finished running this gem and found out that I have not one but two installs of Windows XP under parallels in different locations. Ouch! I also have a bad habit of filling up on multi-media crapola. Projects I’ve done in iMovie and screen casts I’ve done with IShowU (even though I haven’t shown you) occupy a large chunk of my spinning magnetism.

JDiskReport gives you a pretty pie chart of wasted space. You can click on hot spots (the large pieces of pie) to drill down and quickly find those forgotten but incriminating pr0n video archives or duplicate dwonloads of music albums you wanted to burn because you lost the disc which you later found and ripped at high bit rates because you didn’t want to lose one piece of frequency of “Let It Burn” even the high ones that only your neighbor’s dog can pick up on. Yes, you can drill down than back up again navigating your way through masses of space lost over time spent drinking while running Limewire then make educated decisions on whether those 46 GB can be reduced to 15-20GB or if it really does make sense to maintain full motion picture of AngieAngelina Jolie in a thong. Not only that, but JDiskReport has a beautiful interface written in… Swing! That’s right, Swing! I’ve said it before, there’s a lot of nice things surrounding the JVM and projects like those found on the JGoodies page and others like what Jetbrains puts out only underscore this important fact. Got Java? You need to get it! If you don’t know, now you know…. y’know?

Leave a Reply

