I got it!


I just ran the Blackberry compiler from Maven… on my Mac. Two cans of Pabst Ice and one Mike’s hard cranberry lemonade into my dev cycle and I finally see a “.cod” file show from a pyx4Me project! It’s in the wrong folder, project root vs. projectroot/target but I can live with that for now. Anyone know a groovy way to set the working directory from a command string run by the overloaded String.execute() method? I don’t wanna call out to Runtime.exec and I don’t wanna write a bunch of platform checks in my plugin. Right now I’m one too many drinks swallowed to know whether or not String.execute() implies platform. In other words I don’t know if I need to code a prefixing “cmd /c ” on my string and check for Windows before calling String.execute(). I’m not happy with the impl because there were a few things I wanted to do better. Right now I’m spawning a java process because the GMaven plugin doesn’t set the rootLoader, which means I can’t dynamically append to my classpath. I’ll either have to set the rapc.jar as a dependency or figure something else out. I’m just glad I got this far! More updates later…

2 thoughts on “I got it!

  1. If you look at my later posts on this topic you’ll see more to the story. Yes, you can compile cod files from Maven on a Mac, but only if you use/target Blackberry OS 4.3+. The dumb rapc tool chain from earlier versions makes ridiculous assumptions about your environment. It looks for both javac and preverify in the PATH and assumes the preverify you have loaded is from the RIM toolkit. Be very, VERY careful if you’re doing anything outside of the JDE because I’ve already fought the white screen of death and continuous runtime verification errors due to mis-matched tools in the complie chain.

Leave a Reply

