KDE Katapult Tip


I’ve done this before, all of it. Everything I’ve done to my new Mepis box is a repeat of two years ago but a lot of it I can’t remember… too hazy. That’s why the blog posts.

Today’s tip involves Katapult. I fell in love with it because of the way it lists my album art as I incrementally search my music selection. I used to rate it above anything on the Mac until I actually tried a Mac. (Silly me, right!) After having been exposed to QuickSilver for a while (and to that extent even Launchy has a thing or two on Katapult!) I miss the ability to re-index my catalog. What that means is being able to see the things right after you install them. Quicksilver (and I think even Launchy) does this automatically on an interval and gives you the option of manually starting a re indexing. Katapult, sadly, only indexes on startup. So I have this one line bash command that you can stick in your KDE menu (so Katapult can see it) that will force a rebuild of the index.

dcop katapult MainApplication-Interface quit; katapult

It restarts Katapult and if you put it in your KDE menu (and stick the Katapult icon on it all nice and cute like) just as I did then you can invoke katapult, right after you do something like install Pidgin, or Groovy, then restart and the next time you bring up Katapult your new install will be there.

Leave a Reply

