Subversion 1.5 and XCode 3.1.2


Why don’t somebody fix this already? I think I finally got the latest XCode 3.1.2 to work with the latest Subversion 1.5 release. This was after downloading the latest 2.2 iPhone SDK. I scoured the web and found the best tip here. There’s another possible more automated solution here but because I don’t feel comfortable running a bash script I copied off of some web page (try it and you’ll cuss. Then you’ll see what I mean!) I went with the other approach. I’ll shorthand the steps I followed below because following the first link above, I think, misses some important files and doesn’t work correctly. The general idea is to copy your Subversion installed libraries (assuming you used the Collab.net bundle) into the place where XCode binds to.

From your home directory:
mkdir svn-bkup
sudo cp /usr/lib/libsvn_* svn-bkup
sudo cp /usr/lib/libapr-1.dylib svn-bkup
sudo cp /usr/lib/libaprutil-1.dylib svn-bkup

sudo cp /opt/subversion/lib/libapr-1.dylib /usr/lib
sudo cp /opt/subversion/lib/libaprutil-1.dylib /usr/lib
sudo cp /opt/subversion/lib/libsvn_* /usr/lib

[restart xcode]

That’s what I did and now it no longer complains “error 155021 this Subversion client is too old and stoopid to work with your shiny new svn checkout that’s just bananas!” Your error message may vary but the concept is the same.

This message is brought to you, in part, by the proud sponsors listed in the Hall of Aim.

3 thoughts on “Subversion 1.5 and XCode 3.1.2

Leave a Reply

