iHeartRadio On Your Blackberry 8830


I finally upgraded my 8830 to Blackberry 4.5 OS. Two of my favorite apps on the iPhone should now be available, Pandora and iHeartRadio. I installed Pandora yesterday and I’m loving it. I also tried to download iHeartRadio with no success. Aparrently my device model isn’t supported. This is unacceptable. Because I’ve done some work on the platform I know my way around enough to understand that the 8300 is roughly compatible. So I offer today’s tip [hack] to those of you who wish to run this app on an 8830 or other unsupported model. Use at your own risk. Your mileage may vary. Some restrictions apply. See your local dealer for details.

Armed with an install of Safari (or any browser with a debug plugin that allows you to spoof the user agent) click “Develop” in the menu and goto “User Agent -> Other…” Set the User Agent to something like: “BlackBerry8300/4.5.0 Profile/MIDP-2.0 Configuration/CLDC-1.1” then navigate to http://www.iheartradio.com which should either redirect you to the jad file or to a page indicating your model is not supported. If you get an “I’m sorry…” page then adjust the model in your user agent until you get the jad. Finally, use AIM/SMS or email to send the URL to your phone where you can then “get link” to begin the install. (In case you’re not aware you can set your mobile phone number as a buddy just by prefixing with “+1″… the format is +1xxxyyyzzzz where xxx is your area code and yyyzzzz is your number.)

Leave a Reply

