Mock It To Me!


I’m playing with OCMock on a random iPhone project and having nothing but pain. Naturally my only outlet is to you, dear reader. Thanx for stopping by and thank you all for the comments you’ve been leaving. Not everyone realizes how important it is not only to comment with well formed answers but to reply with well thought out questions and problems. We all suck our knowledge from the same cloud of computers nowadays. I don’t know about you but I constantly find myself trapped behind a convoluted compiler or runtime error and an unanswered question on some forum. No matter how good Stackoverflow is getting these days it still does not have AI and cannot answer all of your questions in twenty minutes or less. That leaves many adventures and problematic programming paths without a “happy ever after”. Hi, I’m Cliff. My job is to continually post cryptic compiler messages and explanations on this site for all to follow. One day my Ode to an EmptyStackException will be the saving grace of a project on the brink of a deadline. (I’ll gladly share my PayPal to those interested in tipping should any of my topics be informative enough to land such a multi-million dollar deal.) I digress.

Today, as I was saying earlier, I wrestle OCMock for iPhone development. When I setup an iPhone project I drag/drop the OCMock.Framework folder in, attach it to my UnitTests target, and double check the framework search paths build property for my test target. I then use a slightly modified version of the OCMockObjectTests to validate all of the features are available. On my latest project I got anal. There was a particular feature (ordered method invocations) that wasn’t in the release I downloaded last year. I updated my version of OCMock then instead of modifying its test suite I copied it into my project. Certain things wouldn’t compile for one reason or another so I hacked around a bit. I got down to a snippet that was attempting to return a “BOOL” from a mock and began seeing these errors:


expected specifier-qualifier-list before 'typeof'

I remember these errors from a while ago when I ran across an article describing a similar solution. I hacked the code around a bit going as far as to download OCMock's source and run the tests from within. The funny thing is that these tests pass without issue, possibly because they're running in OS X world. When run in iPhone world things seem to be slightly different. Here's what I see in particular.

This works:

BOOL variable;
[NSValue value:&variable withObjCType:@encode(BOOL)]

This doesn't work:

BOOL variable;
[NSValue value:&variable withObjCType:@encode(typeof(variable))]

There are a few other subtle issues that I can't get into because I hacked around so much I lost my place. I'm now facing a "Bus error" when I run through the remaining tests. I you know what I don't, then type one of those comment things. You'll not only improve my life, but you'll enrich the lives of hundreds of Googling souls facing similar trouble.

5 thoughts on “Mock It To Me!

  1. Random thought- ‘typeof’ is a pretty nonstandard operator, it’s not even C99, it’s a weird GNU thing. It might be failing because GCC’s ARM backend doesn’t properly support it(?) Maybe?

  2. I saw this yesterday after posting. There were blurbs about using __typeof__ for most C compilers. I have an even bigger problem. I tried restoring the original test cases and I still get the error. So now I gotta revert my project back to where I was getting green bars and see if I can trace the problem. (Things get complicated by the fact that I tried using git for VCS instead of bzr which is slightly more familiar to me.)

Leave a Reply

