Blackberry Sims running on OSX!


Success at the 11th hour… literally! It is now 11pm and I get the Blackberry Storm simulator to pop up on my Macbook Pro Leopard install under X11. To say that this is chalenging is an understatement. However with a little patience you too can read the remainder of this blog post and and have the Blackberry Storm staring at you. (Also, wait for my followup when I revisit running RAPC under Maven.) The biggest challenge most people have running Blackberry sims on OSX is the particular sim itself. I’ve discovered that not all sims are created equal. Particular sims load while others kinda load while still others crash and burn. Follow the directions here and Download the exact version of the sim mentioned and you should be ok. Or, if you’re like me you won’t find the exact version. The example assumes Storm sim version 4.7.0_4.7.0.46 but I couldn’t find it. Instead I was successful with version 4.7.0.76. Before that I got really close with the ol’ Sprint 8830-4.2.2.123. This one loads but gives me “Access violation reading from 0×00000024”. Many say you can get rid of this by running clean.bat but I couldn’t find it in my install. I also read that dedicating the process to a single core could help (Linux tip) but I couldn’t find a CPU affinity tool that runs on Mac. I remembered that I would get these kinds of errors in Windows when I had JAVA_HOME set to point to JDK6 or JDK5 depending on the sim. So I unset my JAVA_HOME but still got the error. Also the newer Storm version 5.0 gives me:
fixme:win:EnumDisplayDevicesW ((null),0,0×33ed40,0×00000000), stub!
fixme:file:MoveFileWithProgressW MOVEFILE_WRITE_THROUGH unimplemented
X Error of failed request: BadRequest (invalid request code or no such operation)
Major opcode of failed request: 128 (Apple-DRI)
Minor opcode of failed request: 7 ()
Serial number of failed request: 4685
Current serial number in output stream: 4685

I have a feeling there are a few other sims that work (try BlackBerry_Simulators_4.6.1.79_8350i.exe also listed in the example) but YMMV.

…And you’ll need to install MDS as well if you want any network access. Fortunately that’s not difficult at all. Just make sure you have JDK6 if you’re running a later version of MDS and recode the run.bat as an equivalent run.sh.

2 thoughts on “Blackberry Sims running on OSX!

  1. I’ve got the cod files compiling in Xcode but am having trouble running the simulator on OS X. I’ve been working off the link you gave for the sim download.

    macports isn’t working for me on snow leopard due to a compiler failure. Ideas?

Leave a Reply

