Starbase 2 under attack!!!


I can’t remember the name of the game but I remember the voice! Let’s take a trip back. Where were you around 1982-1984 when the Intellivision and Intellivoice system made its impact? I remember where I was. Hi, I’m Cliff. You’re here because your starbase is under attack. You’re not sure how many attackers are invading but you’re hearing the early Text To Speech (TTS) prompts, “Starbase 1 under attack, starbase 2, under attack, starbase 3 under attack!”

*Update* the name of the game was Space Spartans and the technology was actually voice synthesis not TTS. Oh and who can forget Tron? That’s what happens when you stay up late to author a post!

So I was emailing my aunt and taking a trip back to when my dad bought the Intellivision II for the family. That lead me to include some Wikipedia links, which lead me to remambering my very first experience with computer voice output. I never really thought about it but this may be one of the reasons I get all dumb over Text To Speech. I must have been about 8 t the time and I still can’t remember the name of the game, but I remember my first Intellivoice experience. Was it Star Smash? …Space Armada? Whatever the name, the voice was so impressive at the time. Robotic, though still magical, the game would alert you when your starbases came under siege. You had the opportunity to engage enemy star ships and blast them to what many refer to as “smithereens”. Now I’ve never owned or held a “smitheren” but I would imagine that is is a very small particle of matter, similar in shape/size to an atom.

Did you grow up in the early 80s? Do you remember the Intellivision? Burgertime? Type something relative in the rectangular shape below and share your experiences.

One thought on “Starbase 2 under attack!!!

  1. I remember that game! It was tough!

    I’d barely be holding on in one sector, while *squadron 2* was being wiped out in another one.

    My Intellivision was slow-moving, slow-reacting, and easy to overheat. But many of its games were much more complex and interesting than the ones I played on my Atari.

Leave a Reply

