Using Siri Effectively


I was watching this argument between a man and his wife happen with Siri trapped in the middle when it dawned on me. I still didn’t know how to get Siri to “tell my wife” about things happening throughout the day. Hi, I’m Cliff. You’re here because Siri doesn’t know about your spouse or significant other. Don’t worry, it’s not difficult to teach her about the individual members of your family. I had much more trouble trying to get her to understand how I pronounce my wife’s name since it is not spelled the way it sounds. I cover all of this in today’s article.

To start, I went into edit mode on my Wife’s contact card and started fiddling. Eventually I noticed the “add field” button. Tapping this brought up a host of different things I could associate with a contact, most notably the “Related People” button. Tapping on “Related people” adds a custom relationship to a contact. I assigned a spouse relationship to her contact and linked it to my contact info. That got me thinking. How does Siri know who I am? After all, my contact info is just another card in my address book. There is no “me” card. I backed out of the address book and went into settings under general and found the Siri settings.

Under Settings -> General -> Siri I found the “My Info” button. Tapping this allowed me to link the contact card with my name to Siri which, in short, teaches her who I am. After that I went back into the contact card for my wife and found some more custom fields. The “Phonetic First Name” was particularly interesting since we (Siri and I) seemed to struggle a bit here. After I spelled things phonetically we started to get along much better. This should put an end to the disagreements we have on Hwy 101 when I say, “Tell Altaress I’m stuck in traffic and it’ll be while before I can get you.” Where Siri responds,

“Clifton, I don’t understand who ‘Ouch Therese’ is. I need a name, number or contact to send your message…”

2 thoughts on “Using Siri Effectively

Leave a Reply

