What’s missing from Siri


I love Siri. I use her on my daily bike ride to work, asking her what time it is. I use her while driving to text my wife and read incoming messages. I’ve asked her where the closest bike shop was, and use her to find all sorts of interesting info. But there’s a piece missing from the experience. Maybe it’s me just being an engineer. Hi, I’m Cliff. You’re here because you’ve noticed something missing from Siri but you can’t quite put a finger on it. I’m here to explain what that piece is.

Yesterday I asked Siri to set an alarm to remind me when to pull the lasagna out of the oven. I believed I had the alarm set properly but when it went off the lasagna was far from cooked. It needed 1 hour and 55 minutes and I started to wonder if Siri only caught the 55 minutes part of my earlier request. I wanted to go back and see when I had asked for the alarm to be set and that’s when it hit me. Of all the conversations I’ve had with Siri, (some loony and ridiculous) I’ve never bee able to go back and recall or check the times that they were held. Conversations between me and Siri seem to roll off into the abyss. I believe that much like the web browser there is a case for history in Siri. I Binged and Googled for an answer and I even went as far as Yahoo but I couldn’t find a way to lookup old conversations between myself and Siri. Maybe after this year’s WWDC?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 242 other followers

