Where does Xcode download and install its simulators?


I need to fire off a quick tip before I go to bed tonight. I was stuck on a bad build of an XCode Simulator and I wanted to reinstall it. (Sometimes the downloaded sim is corrupted. This is common in the beta/pre-release builds of XCode.) I had downloaded and installed both 8.4 and 8.1 simulators. Hi, I’m Cliff. You’re here reading this because you suck at uninstalling Simulators in Xcode.

I had the worst luck trying to remove what I’d downloaded and installed. First I tried drilling into the Xcode.app folder to find and remove the downloaded simulator here:
/Applications/Xcode.app/Contents/Developer/Platforms/iPhoneSimulator.platform/Developer/SDKs/PhoneSimulator8.1sdk
However, after restarting XCode it still “thought” the simulators were downloaded. I even tried deleting the cache folder here:
~/Library/Caches/com.apple.dt.Xcode
But I had the same results after restarting. The actual path to the downloaded and installed Simulators (since version 6.x) is:
/Library/Developer/CoreSimulator/Profiles/Runtimes

Leave a Reply

