iPhone Unit? TDD?


Thank God for people like Dr Nic. I managed to test drive a simple calculator project on the iPhone using his screencast. Just a quick note if you don’t come from the Ruby camp, (you know, like you spend most of your time obsessing over the JVM and toy with Groovy on the weekends):

You’ll want to install rubigen to get his example to work.

sudo gem install rubigen

You’ll also find that since the project renaming iphoneruby doesn’t work. Instead “gem install rbiphonetest”. My only question is why doesn’t my calculator respond to the reset method after I completed the screencast walk through and added the reset method to the object?

assert_respond_to calc, :reset

fails for me! Must be another one of those iPhone/ObjC inconsistencies that I’ll learn along the way.

Fix Java Swing Apps on Compiz-Fusion


Or fix Swing apps on Beryl…

I’m keeping my eye on this trail:
http://blog.morgan.hk/2007/04/29/display-problems-with-beryl-or-compiz-and-java/
I found it using this search:
http://www.google.com/search?sourceid=mozclient&ie=utf-8&oe=utf-8&q=beryl.jdk6.fix.sh

Because I use Idea and because Idea uses Swing, and because I like eye candy, things just wont work 100% even on Debian/Mepis one of the most stable OSes around. If you use Mepis 7 out of the box then you’ll have a great experience. But if you’re like me then you’ll no doubt push the limits even a little and find your self looking at a blank screen when there should be a diff.